[Food Review] Itacho Sushi (Bugis)

Address: #B1-05, Bugis Junction, 200 Victoria Street, 188021

After the slightly dismal trip to National Gallery, we went to Itacho Sushi at Bugis Junction for lunch. In the end, I paid in total about $12 for a bowl of chirashi (specifically, sakura jyu which was priced at $10.40) and 1 piece of salmon (smoked, I think, but I don’t recall the price. Either way one can work out mathematically the actual price of the salmon given 10% svc and 7% gst). Which is pretty affordable in terms of eating Jap food!

Free flow hot green tea was provided with a minimum purchase of $10, which we appreciated deeply. Service staff were attentive and polite, giving greetings to customers upon entering and leaving the establishment. We only had to signal for a cup refill once, which was perfectly permissible.

Overall, I enjoyed my experience at Itacho sushi. However, I have tasted better smoked salmon sashimi elsewhere at around the same price (Genki Sushi and The Sushi Bar are fine examples). As this is my first time having chirashi don, I can’t say for sure about comparison with other food outlets out there currently, but it was pretty decent. I didn’t really enjoy the white fish inside it though because it tasted too fishy, but that’s a personal preference.

It would be more affordable to visit Itacho Sushi during lunchtime compared to dinnertime – my $10.40 don was ordered under one of their lunch sets. While I would definitely visit this place again for lunchtime catchups and such with friends, I would not be back during dinner hours. Another point to note is that the booths tend to be rather constrained and not very spacious, and I felt that the air-conditioning could be improved (it felt a teeny bit stuffy, perhaps because we were seated in a corner of the restaurant, but it was okay for me because I am okay with such conditions).

Service: 4/5
Food: 3.5/5
Location: 4.5/5
Price: 4/5
Overall rating: 4/5

 

Leave a comment